BC3 Library: Mathematics: Recommended Resources

Math Web Sources

Math Help

Videos

Khan Academy YouTube Channel
DIYMaths - has videos and materials covering many topics.

Open Resource Alternatives to MatLab

Search Box Central

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The Credo Reference collection includes several math books including

How numbers work: discover the strange and beautiful world of mathematics
50 Maths Ideas You Really Need to Know
Basic mathematics: an introduction
Teach yourself: basic mathematics: an introduction
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics

Salem Press This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the book
Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society

The BC3 Library has several options for finding articles on chemistry topics in addition to the SciFinder database.

You will be able to find some full text articles in Academic Search Premier, PubMed, and Google Scholar, but many of the articles in all of these databases will need to be requested using the BC3 Library's Article Request form. This is a free service for BC3 students and employees.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Collection of academic, peer reviewed, research journals as well as some popular magazines.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
BC3 does not subscribe to ScienceDirect, but you can search its contents and request articles using the BC3 Library's article request form.
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost's Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.

BC3 Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
This catalog lists all of the books, DVDs, CDs, journals and other resources available at the BC3 Library on the Butler campus.
EBook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is a collection of academic eBooks from leading publishers. It covers the arts, business, education, health & medicine, history, law, literature & language, religion & philosophy, science & technology and the social sciences.
EBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of academic online books covering a wide range of subjects.

Google Scholar includes both books and articles. Be careful when selecting that the source is reputable. If an article is not made freely available online, remember that you can use the BC3 Library's Request an Article service to request it and we will do our best to obtain it and email it to you - free of charge.

Videos

Ted Talk. Math is the hidden secret to understanding the world. Roger Antonsen

Featured Books

Mage Merlin's Unsolved Mathematical Mysteries

Curves for the Mathematically Curious

Proofiness

Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society

Basic College Mathematics

Math with Bad Drawings

Basic Probability: What Every Math Student Should Know

The Math Behind...

Books

The BC3 Library has both print and electronic books for mathematics. All of the print books and many of the ebooks are listed in the BC3 Library Catalog where you will find Dewey call numbers to locate print books on the shelves (lower level of the library) and links to connect you to e-books. E-books can also be searched separately in our two e-book collections: e-Book Central by Proquest and e-Book Collection by EBSCO.

Browsing the Stacks

You will find books related to engineering primarily in the 500 section of the library

510s - Mathematics. Here is a sketch of some of the different relevant classification numbers for the books.

510 - Mathematics philosophy and theory
512 - Algebra
516 - Geometry
519 - Probability and applied mathematics
- Game theory
- Statistics
- Programming

Math Apps

Mathematics-Includes formula calculation with variables, sums, products and sequences; solve equations (linear, quadratic, cubic, transpose); plot functions, derivate, integrate, calculate roots and extremas (polynomial, rational, exponential, etc); and more. (Android)

FX Calculus Problem Solver-Guide you on how to solve your Calculus homework and textbook problems. (iOS)

Khan Academy: PreCalculus-Allows students to learn PreCalculus through various videos which are download directly to their devices. (iOS)

Hands-On Equations-Helps students to learn the basics of algebra. (Android)

Statistics Calculator-Functions include: statistics, statistical distributions, and frequency tables. (Android)

Connect

Request an ARTICLE

Request a BOOK

Ask a question

Meet with a Librarian

Subject Contact

Jean Shumway

Email Me

Contact:

724-287-8711 ext. 8296