Winter Break Hours
December 16 - December 20: Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
December 21 - January 1: CLOSED
January 2- January 20: Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
January 21: RESUME REGULAR HOURS
Reference databases are
A great place to start your research
Provide definitions, introductory information, facts, vocabulary/keywords, names
Preferred over Wikipedia by your instructors
Include citations for your bibliography!
Collection of encyclopedias, reference databases, issue topic databases
ProCon.org - web source that focuses on the pros and cons of controversial issues.
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes scholarly literature across an array of disciplines including peer-reviewed academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations. Some of the resources are freely available full-text, others you will need to request using the library's Article or Book Request Forms.
Virtual talk on the Carlisle Indian School
Learn about the history & haunting legacy of the Carlisle Indian Industrial School in honor of Native American Heritage Month.
Tuesday, November 19 @ 12:40pm
All-Campus Book Read & Discussion
Join us as we read The Hacienda, a debut supernatural suspense novel, set in the aftermath of the Mexican War of Independence, about a remote house, a sinister haunting, and the woman pulled into their clutches.
Book discussion: Wednesday, October 30 from 12-1pm
Heaton 232 OR virtually
Talk on the Amazon Rainforest
Staff from the University of Pittsburgh’s Center for Latin American Studies will be here to talk about the most biologically diverse place on Earth, but one of the world's most threatened sites too- the Amazon.
Tuesday, October 15 @ 12:40PM in Heaton 232 OR virtually
Librarians are available and ready to assist with research or technical questions. Stop by the library or contact us by Email: library@bc3.edu or by using the Ask/Request/Schedule options in the menu below.
|
|
Meet with a Librarian |
|
|
|
What are Open Educational Resource (OER)? How do they benefit students and faculty? How are they being used at BC3, and how do you find and incorporate them into a BC3 course? Read more.....
Day of the Dead celebration
Contribute to our Day of the Dead altar as we remember our deceased loved ones and celebrate their memory on this special day.
Wednesday, October 30 in the upper level of the Heaton
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day
Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications
Historical collection of newspapers that contains first-hand accounts of seminal events affecting American society from 1690 to 2000. The material is organized through a visual timeline-based interface but you can also use a keyword search to locate content. The resource collection is comprised of newspapers from around the country, containing articles as they appeared in print, as well as political cartoons, advertisements and obituaries.
In alignment with BC3's Mission and Goals:BC3 Library Mission StatementThe BC3 Library is dedicated to providing information resources, both print and electronic, to support College curriculum and to meet the information needs of students, faculty, and staff. The Library will promote information literacy through formal classroom instruction, individual reference service, and online instructional training modules. The Library will welcome community citizens to use its services, resources, and facilities. The Library will provide a supportive, student-centered environment for individual and collaborative work. |
Library Faculty and StaffLaurie Eytel, Circulation Secretary, x8246Jessica Welter, Acquisitions Secretary, x8293Jean Shumway, Librarian, x8296Julia Tulba, Librarian, x8292Martin Miller, Dean of Library Services, x8210 |
